'56 Commander radiator: _seriously_ dumb question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cool/Heat: '56 Commander radiator: _seriously_ dumb question

Hey folks, I'm a complete newbie. Apologies if I'm screwing something up. Smack me if I do, I want to be a good citizen. I've been lurking and reading for a few weeks.

I have a seriously dumb questions regarding the 50s radiators, specifically the '56 Commander. I'm not looking for one or trying to fix one up-- I'm trying to build a transparent 'working' scale model of one.

OK, so most folks here probably know the old Renwal Visible V8s are a generic mashup of a couple engines, but they're mostly Studebakers. I decided to build one that wasn't generic, so I'm slowly morphing the kit into a 1956 Sweepstakes V8. It's also getting a radiator, working water pump, oil system, the works. Why 1956? I like the black/turquoise color scheme best :-) Also, I wanted a year from before supercharging to avoid the temptation.

I'm no jedi-master modeller, but getting small things wrong would I could have gotten them right bugs me, so here's the question:

Were the outermost rows (fins on only one side) on the old radiators tubes that carried water? Or were the outermost fins soldered to a solid piece on one side like on most radiators today?

Also... I don't suppose anyone has good, big pics of a '56 Commander radiator (the round top ones) that shows more than just the top? I can guess, but it's always nice to have a study.

So far I'm mostly working off pictures from deepnhock's extensive photo galleries and some good engine shots from a [custom? they didn't come with 289s I thought] '56 Commander
    at http://56studebaker.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/engine/

Cheers!
    Last edited by xiphmont; 07-20-2011, 02:24 AM.

Originally posted by xiphmont View Post