This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What happen to Studebaker?

I do not see on the sight where I can search for this information. I am new to Studebaker and do not have a car yet but am looking for one.
    Why did Studebaker go out of business? It seems from all the information I have read on here they had a good product. The Hawk should have competed with the T-Bird.

Jon, you'll get a lot of answers to this question, but the primary reason, without being a smart-alek, is that they just didn't sell enough cars (and trucks) to stay in the automobile and truck manufacturing business.[}]

A number of factors caught up with Studebaker after WWII. Economies of scale made it harder and harder for the independents to keep their heads above water after the immediate postwar sellers market went away beginning in 1950. However, there was a brief respite in late 1950/early 1951, when people ran back in to buy cars for fear that the Korean War would leave them without a new car (again).

Labor relations at Studebaker were pitiful. They prided themselves so much on never having had a bad strike that they wound up with workers [)] making more than they could at The Big Three, but that higher cost had to be spread out over FEWER cars! [xx(] The result was that prices kept getting higher and higher in relation to their competition.[:0]

Management made several product tactical blunders, too. The 1953 models showed great promise[], but the idea of building essentially two different cars that looked alike resulted in, again, higher costs per unit than could be tolerated and still be competitive. [8] And it took forever to get the first units thrown together and shipped, long after many folks had just gone out and bought a nicely warmed-over [for 1953] Chevrolet, which had better body integrity anyway... and a generally lower price, model-for-model.