'57 Silver Hawk, A Family Tradition

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: '57 Silver Hawk, A Family Tradition

I've decided to start a thread to try and keep me on track for the next few months as I build my 1957 Silver Hawk's engine to its fullest potential. I've been an SDC member for a little while now but I mostly just read the forums looking for helpful hints. I've been a mechanic my whole life, professionally for 15 years, and a pretty decent fabricator.

First, I feel a little back story is in order. In 1980 my dad rescued a reasonably solid 57 Hawk from a local salvage yard and began the job of getting it back on the road. Money was tight and the bare minimum was done to get the car running and driving. The 259 was pulled, pistons beat out with hammer and chisel, block bored .040 (a cylinder sleeved). He sourced a 289 crank and rods,cleaned up the heads and put it all back together. At the time it was hard to find a decent Studebaker 3 speed so he did the only logical thing, take some measurement sand find something else that would work. That just happened to be a Chrysler A833 4 speed out of a big block car. He had a machine shop whip up a 3/4"adapter plate and Viola, drivetrain done. It didn't take long for dad to decide this car needed a supercharger so he searched around and bought what he thought at the time was a set up for a Golden Hawk. Turns out it was a VS57 kit for a yet undetermined engine. Maybe someone out there can help me ID those parts someday. I have since sourced everything I need except for a Golden Hawk crank pulley and spacer.