Knock in lower end

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Knock in lower end

The car is a 62 Hawk. Automatic, all stock except for Mallory distributor. About two weeks ago a sudden engine knock appeared. With the stethoscope I can hear it in the oil pan. Other symptoms:
    --no drop in oil pressure
    --noise is worse at idle esp when you rev her a little; it goes away at speed and seems to run fine
    --less of a fairly loud clunk clunk as engine warms; also less frequent
    --the noise indicates that something is loose

My various shade tree mechanic thoughts:
    --bad crankshaft bearing?
    --bad oil pump?
    --bad timing gear?
    --broken flex plate?

When I have time in the next week or so I am going to drop the oil pan and take a peek. I have asked a local mechanic to take a look as well, since I have had no real experience with a problem like this (and may not know what I am looking at unless it is very obvious).

Have any of you had similar problems? Any thoughts on what may be the cause of this? As always thanks so much for your time!

I would check the flex plate, FIRST.

Comment

Originally posted by Flashback View Post
      I would check the flex plate, FIRST.
      Me too. If the engine runs well except for the noise, check the simple things first.
      "In the heart of Arkansas."
      Searcy, Arkansas
      1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
      1952 2R pickup

Comment

You should be able to identify if the noise is coming from the front or rear of engine. This would lead you to timing gear/fuel pump or flex plate (of course could be something else).
        If it is the flex plate, you should mostly notice it on first applying a load.
        Is the engine/transmission combination original? If not, it may not have been aligned (dialed-in). This will cause flex plate damage/breakage and should be fixed along with the flex plate (if that is the problem).
        Gary L.
        Wappinger, NY