No announcement yet.

Need help about my 1928 FA Cabriolet Studebaker President Eight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frame / Springs: Need help about my 1928 FA Cabriolet Studebaker President Eight

I am new to classic car restoration and don't want to do anything to hurt the value of my car.
    Should I restore it?
    The car sits crooked. Should I re-ache the leaf springs, rebuild the shocks and put new straps on?
    I am looking for a manual fuel pump.
    I want to start the car. I am servicing the fuel tank and radiator now. Should I flush the engine block out it has been sitting since 1972.
    I need advice on just about everything.

The Cincinnati area is full of Studebaker fans.
    Join the Antique Studebaker Club and find friends that can help.

Robert Kapteyn

Comment

Originally posted by rkapteyn View Post
      The Cincinnati area is full of Studebaker fans.
      Join the Antique Studebaker Club and find friends that can help.

Robert Kapteyn
      Excellent suggestion above. In addition, join the Studebaker Drivers Club, subscribe to the "Turning Wheels" magazine, and a local chapter of the SDC. Once you "get your feet on the ground," and get a good feeling of resources available to you, you will be better equipped to develop a restoration plan. From your initial post, there is not enough information regarding your experience and qualifications to take on the task.

The more you do yourself, the less the cost. You'll need to evaluate your capabilities, and talents (and the ability to develop new skills) along with the resolve and determination to see the project to completion. Cars of this era are definitely worth restoring as they represent the "golden age" of automotive development and artistic expression. Especially a Studebaker, because in this era, they were high end cars that exceeded the quality of most roads they had to be driven on.