question from a rookie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: question from a rookie

is it possible and a good idea to change a 51 starlight coupe by putting in a v-8 commander engine in it and are they available ? for i am concerned if the flathead with overdrive 6 has enough power please remember i am extremely new to this thank you in advance any and all information is appreciated

It's possible, but if I were going to do this, I would want a donor car. Lot to consider. What condition is your car? Do you have an attachment to it? Would you rather sell and buy another, or maybe trade? How are you going to use this car? Would you lose intrest before completing this, a good size, project?

Comment

A V-8 in a '51 Champion

This is a very important issue that Flashback mentioned: "How are you going to use this car? "

Because, if you are not into Stoplight Gran Prix's, towing trailers, climbing Hills or doing a lot of Interstate Highway travel, the little Six will do just fine if you have Overdrive, it will help A BUNCH!

To answer your question, there ARE Club Members here and not here, that can be reached by an ad in our Monthly Publication "Turning Wheels", that can help with finding an Engine. Even some that will "build" you a fresh 259 or 289.

Since you have a '51 that was built for a Commander V-8, even though it is a Champion Six, you would have an easier job than with older 6 Cyl. only Cars.
      But it would still require changing the entire driveline, Radiator to Differential and the Front Springs and Brakes.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

StudeRich, why do you say it was built for a Commander V8? Spey doesn't say if it's a Commander or a Champion and as it has a six I'd bet it's a Champion.