This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '52 Studebaker motor

I've never worked on an old car before and i'm having a problem getting the motor to break loose. Is there any "easy" way of doing this besides taking the whole thing appart?
    I have a '52 Studebaker commander (V8). If i'm not using the right termonalogy...go easy on me! I've never worked on a car before AND i'm female. Right there is my biggest excuse! (ha,ha)
    And no i'm not do'n this all on my own, i've got my b/f and my dad helping.
    but anyway...any ideas?

You haven't given us much information as to how long has it been sitting, has any rain or water gotten into it, how many estimated miles on it, ect.

Comment

The car has been sitting for around 25- 30 years outside in a cow pasture/field. With that in mind it surprizingly isn't in bad shape. When i began to take out the motor (after discovering it was seezed up) there was water/moisture on the pistons. I still have to take the heads in and see if they're craked or not. If they are that explains the water, if not... then i'm not sure. This car WAS running for about two days six years ago. The reason for letting it sit was because the brake lines have to be replaced and something was wrong with something else, i'm not sure what it was. If i could get the pistons to move that would solve a lot of the problems with the motor. Is there anything else that you need to know? i'll do my best to give more information. just let me know what else i need to mention.

Comment

oh! miles... i'm not sure how many is on it. I looked at it a month ago but forgot. all i know is that the milage is low
        72 thousand --- give or take this is only a guess.

Comment