1963 Studebaker Lark 6 cylinder clutch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clutch / Torque Converter: 1963 Studebaker Lark 6 cylinder clutch

Just removed the clutch from my '63 Lark, 6 cylinder with overdrive. What a task, little working room. My book says 8 inch dick, the disc I took out measures just over 8 inches and the pressure plate measures 8.5 inches across. What other years, models will fit and where can I purchase new or rebuilt clutch and pressure plate? I am new to Studebakers, so I may be asking more questions. Thanks, Arnie PS Any chapter or members in northern Nevada, Reno, Carson area

Im kinda in the same boat. Ive yet to see another. The book says we're supposed to have 8 5" disks.

Comment

I may have a complete set up. As I am packing for Reedsville this week I'll check , While I'm at it I will check the parts manual ,Ed

Comment

If you have 2 sets im interested

Comment

Page 230 in the SI catalog also shows the clutch disc and pressure plate.

Comment

My '64 170 has an 8-1/2" clutch and pressure plate. Someone used an earlier incorrect 8" disc in your car. The 6 cylinder clutches are available but are very rare and will require your core before your new clutch is sent out. Cost about $250 for cover and disc. Throw out bearing is about $65.

Comment

If you are not in a big hurry, I have some NOS clutches at home, and also probably some used ones with decent meat on the disc. But it will be a week or more for me to get to them. Not sure if there are any 8.5" among the NOS or not.
              Gord Richmond, within Weasel range of the Alberta Badlands

Comment

Hi Hudson rules , Here is what I came up with , 1-1553598 and 1- 1550958 , These are heavy duty 6 cylinder , The disc is 9 3/16 and the pressure plate is 9 1/4 , These parts are NOS , The pressure plate had light surface rust on the disc and it cleaned up nice , I do not have a throw out bearing , 140.00 for the pair , plus shipping , Thanks , Ed

Comment