disassembling seized engine, pistons wont move

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: disassembling seized engine, pistons wont move

I have been soaking the pistons in ATF and acetone for two months, I decided to remove the crankshaft to see if I could at least get some of the pistons out. So far the answer is no... I tried using a 2.5" diameter piece of wood and a BFH to see if I could get any movement. I am not above moving it to my 12 ton press and seeing what that can do.

The engine is a OHV six cylinder from a 64 Commander. The head does not have any detectable cracks so now I want to see if the bottom end is salvageable. The crankshaft looks better than the one from my Lark, but the wrist bearings on the pistons are seized as well as the pistons themselves.

Any ideas?

Well, you have nothing to lose, as you are obviously not re-using the pistons.
    I would hit the ones close to the top directly with the BFH. The others, I would use a big metal drift or solid steel rod or whatever. That block of wood is soaking up a lot of the impact.

Comment

Set it out in the sun when it hits 103 degrees this summer. Use an air hammer to give a little vibration to it. Then break out the he Sledgeomatic Something's gonna give!
      My 1st car. "A TRANSTAR"

Starliner
      sigpic
      Somewhere between Culture and Agriculture
      in the Geographic center of Tennessee

Comment

I used Aero-Kroil on an old 194 engine that was seized solid and it worked well. http://www.kanolabs.com/penLub.html

Craig

Comment

Well a Chapter Member here made a BBQ fire in a V8 Valley and loosened the Pistons enough to pound some out and break the rest!
          StudeRich
          Second Generation Stude Driver,
          Proud '54 Starliner Owner
          SDC Member Since 1967

Comment