Got my 1963 259 block and heads back from the machine shop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Got my 1963 259 block and heads back from the machine shop

I had the engine block & heads cleaned out (I'm sure there is a more technical term for it), cylinders bored & honed .030" (bored into an oil passage in one cylinder, so it was bored even larger to install a sleeve, then bored the sleeve to match other cylinders), decks machined flat/smooth (the machinist estimated that he removed about .007"), cam bearings removed and replaced with new, freeze plugs and pipe plugs installed, heads machined flat/smooth, new valve seats installed and machined to proper height with a 3-angle face, and new valve guides installed for a grand total of $1207.68

It cost more than I had anticipated, but I imagine that the price is typical of such a service.

I'm just beginning to reassemble and noticed something that concerns me. Apparently the cleaning process (acid bath, or whatever the process is) left the lifter bores rough....it feels similar to a sandblasted texture or the texture of the plastic that my keyboard is made of. At first I thought it might be overspray from the machinist spraying cast-iron gray paint on much of the block, but lacquer thinner did not remove it. So, I am certain that the cast iron bores themselves have slight pitting from the cleaning process. Is this typical of this process? Does this sound like anything to be concerned about?

Back to the garage now, gotta get something done before bedtime. Good night!
    sigpic
    In the middle of MinneSTUDEa.

I would run a wire bottle brush through them and see how they look.
    Then slip a lifter into one and check it for any excess side clearance.
    In the 80's I hot tanked a lot of blocks and never had a problem.
    Was your block shot peened for cleaning, or was it hot tanked?

Comment