Motor oil thoughts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Motor oil thoughts?

The manual calls for SAE 30 motor oil in the 63 Lark, but I was wondering if anyone is running multigrade oils and what the results have been. It seems to me that running a 10 or 20w30 might be a little more beneficial just for the start/warm up. I don't believe multigrade oil was commonly available in 63, otherwise Studebaker may have recommended it. I realize this is a highly debatable topic, but regardless would appreciate your thoughts.

I am no expert on engine oil but have been using multigrade motor oil in both my '50 Commander with a 245 cu. in. six, and my '61 Champ truck with a V8 engine with no ill effects. I started using it upon a recommendation from by brother who is a master mechanic and expert on Studebakers. I would suggest trying a grade like 10W-30 and watch your oil pressure on cold starts and after the engine is hot. You may find that changing to something heavier in the summer and lighter in the winter is a good choice.
    I will be very interested to see what other replies you get.
    Ed Sallia
    Dundee, OR

Sol Lucet Omnibus

Comment

Multigrade oil was available when your car was new, but it wasn't as good as it is today. Both engine/metallurgy and lubricant technology has changed greatly over the years. Your engine never had the close tolerances of today's cars, and 50 years of driving it probably hasn't tightened it up. Agree with Commander Eddie -- start with something like 10w-40 (or even 20w-50 in summer) and keep track of oil pressure and oil consumption.
      Skip Lackie

Comment

I run 10W30 but use the "diesel" grade (because I read it here on the forum and I trust these guys).
        Dave Warren (Perry Mason by day, Perry Como by night)

Comment