1960 Lark water temp sensor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: 1960 Lark water temp sensor

I just bought my first Studebaker. A 1960 Lark VIII. I am a weekend mechanic so have limited knowledge. Can anyone tell (show) me where the water temperature sensor is on my V8? I'm not getting any temperature reading on my dash gauge and I thought I would start with the temp sending sensor. I downloaded a Studebaker-Packard corporation shop manual and it says that it is in the block toward the back left cylinder head. The sensor that I find back there matches info I have for the oil sensor not the water sensor.

Any info would be appreciated.
    Thanks

Left side is driver's side. (Left and right side is sitting in the driver's seat.) So the temperature sending unit is at the very back of the driver's side head, facing rearward. You have adequate room to unscrew it with a box wrench. Or, you might find that the wire has become disconnected.

Comment

If you look at the cylinder heads they are interchangeable left to right. This would mean that the front of the cylinder head that was on the left would now be the rear on the right, and vice versa. So, where the front of the cylinder head has the water pump manifold bolted to it it would need a block off plate on the rear of the cylinder head to cover the opening where the manifold could be bolted if the cylinder head was used on the other side. This block off plate at the back of the drivers side cylinder head is where you look for the temp sender.

Len

Comment

Thanks guys, Left,right,right,left makes all the difference. I'll take a look once it gets above freezing here in NJ.
        Should I use teflon tape on the threads? or Anti-seize? or anything?

Comment

You may want to test the gauge before removing the sending unit, it may be a faulty ground connection.

Comment

Teflon tape works well. I have also used the high temp gunk out of a tube.

Comment

Az64stude,