No announcement yet.

Low compression on 3,5, and 7.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Low compression on 3,5, and 7.

Hello,

I am new to the world of studebaker. I just purchases a 1963 Studebaker Cruiser with a 289 V8, flightomatic and factory power disc brakes.

Over the weekend I performed a compression test and was disappointed to find out that #3,#5 and #7 are all down with readings of 90, 100 and 120 . The other cylinders are between 140-150.

I put some MMO in #3 and rechecked the compression with no change in the compression.

All the old plugs looked good.

I have posted a picture of the plugs with associated readings.

I have no history on the engine and I have not adjusted the valves. I am considering picking up another set of head to work on while I drive the car around. I am assuming that my problem is with either the valves or potentially a head gasket.

I am not loosing oil. It is clear. I am also not smoking out the tail pipe. No loss of coolant and it is clear.

I am stumped. Any ideas?

Thanks,
    Steve

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7046.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	1751149
    Steve Nowicki

Davis, CA

1963 Studebaker Cruiser
    289 V8 2bbl
    Flight-o-matic
    Twin Traction Dana 44
    Factory front power disc brakes
    Rose mist with Chestnut interior

The Autozone up in Woodland (or those in Sacto) should have a radiator tester on their tool loaner program.

HTIH (Hope The Info Helps)

Jeff

Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. Mark Twain

Note: SDC# 070190 (and earlier...)

Comment

I think you are on the right track. Something with the heads is probably your problem. Might be as simple as a valve job and good to go. Head gasket would usually give you the same reading as the cylinder next to it.
      sigpic1966 Daytona (The First One)
      1950 Champion Convertible
      1950 Champion 4Dr
      1955 President 2 Dr Hardtop
      1957 Thunderbird

Comment