Information wanted on my Studebaker motor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Information wanted on my Studebaker motor

Hi folks I'm new to Studebaker's and I have purchased a an engine for my T project the engine number is 367042 which I'm told dates it to 1948 and gives me a 170 cu in motor, the gearbox has T90-1 cast into the casing which I'm told is from a truck? any help with info on this motor would be superb, like tech specifications, rev range etc.. I plan to campaign my T in Vintage Hotrod hill-climb's and sprint's and hopefully some speed testing on Pendine sands in the UK... so i don't want to do anything that will damage the motor like over revving etc...
    sorry for the probably dumb newbie questions but I want to get the best from my motor and car..
    cheers
    Shaun

If you can assure yourself that the engine will have #40 oil pressure at 2500 rpm, you don't need to worry about over revving it. Valve float will take care of that.

There are dual carburetor manifolds available, and dual exhausts can be fabricated, both of which will enhance the performance of the engine. Of course, new rings and valves will help, too.

I can't help with the Transmission, it's beyond my pay grade.

Have fun with it, the engine itself may last forever, if well maintained.

Comment

With forged rods and a forged crank, you'll have a hard time breaking it unless it's already been over-ported. What kills those engines is cracks in the blocks on the exhaust valve seats.

We took one about as far as you can go with it and got 234 HP from it with a turbo. A good one should pull a T around pretty well.

Here's one we broke:

Here's the hot intake setup if you want to get crazy:

Comment

Not to steal the thread, but Bob, that is a gorgeous turbo setup.
        Dave Nevin
        Corvallis, OR
        1953 Champion Deluxe Coupe
        Stud-e-venture blog

Comment

A Dave Molnar special.

Comment