Polishing Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Body / Glass: Polishing Advice

I'm completely new to polishing/making metal parts shine. I have a 65 Commander l6 and if anyone could help me with the questions listed below it would be greatly appreciated.

How can you tell the difference between different metals in an engine ie stainless, chrome, aluminum?
    How would you polish a part with rust and pitting to a mirror finish?
    What parts of an engine can't be polished?
    What types/brands of material would be used in the particular step?
    Will stainless steel ever loose its shine once polished?
    What are hubcaps, intake manifold, trim, and engine blocks made out of?

Thank you for your help,
    Michael Scharf

For years trim on Studebakers was either chrome plated pot metal or stainless steel. However in 1964 aluminum started to be used on some body trim, mostly body side mouldings and grille with adjoining headlamp bezels (or doors). Hubcaps & the optional full wheel covers are stainless. Stainless steel can be straightened, polished until there isnt any left. Matt Burnette (mbstude on the forum) repairs & polishes stainless parts for a living. You should get with him on polishing. Parts if not done correctly can be damaged, destroyed or cause severe bodily harm.

The engines have always been cast iron, as was intake, exhaust & water manifolds. I dont know what you have in mind to "polish" on it. The valve covers, valley cover, air cleaner are all made from sheet steel, stamped to shape. Some of these parts were chrome plated on vehicles made with Avanti engines. Hope this helps.
    59 Lark wagon, now V-8, H.D. auto!
    60 Lark convertible V-8 auto
    61 Champ 1/2 ton 4 speed
    62 Champ 3/4 ton 5 speed o/drive
    62 Champ 3/4 ton auto
    62 Daytona convertible V-8 4 speed & 62 Cruiser, auto.
    63 G.T. Hawk R-2,4 speed
    63 Avanti (2) R-1 auto
    64 Zip Van
    66 Daytona Sport Sedan(327)V-8 4 speed