No announcement yet.

The one piece I thought was good...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: The one piece I thought was good...

The one part I was sure was good in my truck was the engine. It runs strong, doesn't smoke, doesn't leak (much), doesn't make any weird noises and has good oil pressure.

But while it's out it seemed smart to flush out the cooling jackets, put in new freeze plugs, clean it, reseal and paint it. Of course as long as the oil pan was off it also made sense to check the bearings, and it would give me a chance to try out Plastigage, which I've never used before.

Well... I still haven't used Plastigage.

Couple of the worst rod bearings.

Worst of the mains.

Fortunately the crank seems OK except for some what looks like minor scoring on one of the rod journals.

I guess the right thing to do is to take the crank in and have it professionally cleaned and polished... I REALLY don't want to get it reground unless it's absolutely necessary.

Comments, suggestions, ideas?

If anyone wants to see all the pictures they are here.....

Store your photos and videos online with secure storage from Photobucket. Available on iOS, Android and desktop. Securely backup your memories and sign up today!

Thanks!
    Jeff DeWitt
    http://carolinastudes.net

No sense in putting it back in without servicing, which it obviously needs.
    I'm a great fan of polishing. If your shop is good, they can install bearings that match each journal. Why make them all 10/1000 or 20/1000 if one can be 3/1000 or another 5/1000? Just be certain oil pump and passages will handle the improved pressure.
    Brad Johnson,
    SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
    Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
    '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
    '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

Yes, in the bad old CASO days I've seen much worse and put the same bearings back and driven it a long time.