Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Oil Leak

Hi Folks. I am new to this Forum.
    I just got a 1957 Silverhawk with a 289 Full Flow Oil System. It is a 15 Year old Body Off Restoration. It is a Beautiful Car.
    I purchased this from a very close friend who has a very serious illness. With that said, here is my problem.
    This has always had a very small oil leak, It has gotten a lot worse.
    I have a Lift in my garage so I have checked this oil leak out, I believe it is the Pan Gasket and not the Front or Rear Seals so I decided to tightened the pan bolts, big mistake! It seemed to slow the leak at first, but I think it is now leaking as bad as before.
    I pulled the Pan off and I am ready to install the new Gasket. I have never done this before, Should I use a gasket sealer? How tight should I make the bolts. Any input will be greatly appreciated.
    I will be looking forward to any input from my Studebaker brothers "or Sisters"
    Thanks,
    Toolhead AKA Butch

Hi Butch, and welcome to the forum. Before you put the pan back on the engine turn it over on a flat surface and make sure the flange is not bent
    or distorted, over tightening the pan bolts, as you mentioned, can create leaks instead of stopping them.

Comment

Here are the answers to your questions, both asked and un-asked:

StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Thank you for your input.

Thank you for your input. I will do as you have said.
        Originally posted by jallen View Post
        Hi Butch, and welcome to the forum. Before you put the pan back on the engine turn it over on a flat surface and make sure the flange is not bent
        or distorted, over tightening the pan bolts, as you mentioned, can create leaks instead of stopping them.

Comment

Hi Rich,