Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

R1 R2 R3 ????? What's it all about Alfie?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: R1 R2 R3 ????? What's it all about Alfie?

OK so I admit I am a newbie and trying to learn all I can. So what the heck are the terms
    R1, R2, R3 all about? Are we talking about performance, displacement, compression ratio, piston shape, gearing intake exhaust, or all the above? Not clear to me. My 62 GT Hawk has a 289 with a four barrel carb and a four speed transmission. So what the heck are we talking about here? Help an old guy out here would ya?

As you are a newbie, I'll give you the short story on the R1 R2 R3. Someone else will surely correct me or pour more info onto this pile. All are based on the 289.
    R1 is a high compression, about 10:1, version of the standard 289 with more cam for increased horsepower. 240 HP
    R2 is a 9:1 compression version which is also equipped with a paxton supercharger. 290 HP
    R3 is a special engineered version of the R2 which includes boring out to 304 cu in, special heads with larger ports and valves and a pressure box around the carburetor which allows slightly more supercharger boost and better breathing. 335 HP
    The horsepower numbers are speculative since car companies at the time were devious at best with respect to the accuracy of the horsepower figures they published.
    I know, for instance, that the true R3 horsepower figures are far greater than 335. An R3 was dyno tested in recent years and found to have significantly more power. I think it was near 400. Someone will surely correct me on this.
    I am currently running an R1 with a 4 speed in my 54 Coupe.
    sals54

Comment

Good summary, Sal.

Two refinements / additions:

1. Studebaker's official horsepower rating for the R2 was 289. That 290 figure has been repeated over and over, and I do not know where it originated. But it didn't originate in South Bend; Studebaker rated the R2 at 289 horsepower.