Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation of used Paxton Supercharger

Hello Everyone,
    Noticed this Paxton on eBay and was wondering what a fellow would need in addition as far as mounts, pulleys, tensioner, etc. This appears to be the same unit a friend had installed on his 1966 Mustang back in the day.
    -

-
    I do not plan to bid on it. Just wondering if others have done this and if the parts from Fairbourne Stude or others would mount if or if there is allot of fabrication?
    -
    Tony in Austin

Buying a used Paxton should be considered right up there with buying a used rattlesnake. It's very possibly waiting to bite you because of the way it was treated by the PO. Paxtons are fragile units and rebuild cost is high. It is also possible to pay as much for the brackets as for the head unit.

thnx, jack vines

PackardV8
    PackardV8

Comment

"Fragile"?? How so?? I'm not arguing, as I have zero knowledge and experience with them. I have one on the r2 engine I bought from JDP that's only got a little engine stand time on it. He said it's "rebuilt".

Are these things not practical for regular use? My ignorance of them doesn't exactly instill confidence in them and then when someone knowledgeable like you calls them "fragile", I wonder if it's a good idea to expect it to give long-term cruising reliability...

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
      Parish, central NY 13131

"Some people live for the rules, I live for exceptions"- 311

"It was the last chance for Studebaker to turn things around. The company was down to its last bullet, and this new small car was it. They called it the Lark"

Comment

i have put 50,000 miles on my R2 avanti with no problems,check colour of oil and watch the level.

gh

Comment