Twin Traction on a Scotty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear Axle: Twin Traction on a Scotty

My '58 Scotsman has the TT rear. Does that automatically mean it's a Dana 44?

Originally posted by tomnoller View Post
    My '58 Scotsman has the TT rear. Does that automatically mean it's a Dana 44?
    I think Studebaker offered TT on any of the Dana/Spicer rears that came in a vehicle - 23s, 27s, 44s, and 60s.

Comment

Ah, thanks!
      I assume since my car is a Scotsman and has the 185 six, I'll also have one of the lighter rear axles. Not that I want to hot rod it, just for replacement seals.

Comment

Ah, thanks!
        I assume since my car is a Scotsman and has the 185 six, I'll also have one of the lighter rear axles. Not that I want to hot rod it, just for replacement seals.
        I have no knowledge but would think like you are.
        Diesel loving, autocrossing, Coupe express loving, Grandpa Architect.

Comment

The axle model number is cast into the "web" of the pumpkin.

Comment

I don't have a '58 parts catalog but the '59-'64 book shows TT used in any of the axles.

Comment

A mechanic pal tells me the 44 has a 19 spline axle shaft, which mine has.
              Going to replace the inner seals (40769-S) and wondering if anyone has replaced the felt ring within the outer seal?

Comment

The pinion seal and inner and outer axle seals are the same for 23, 27, and 44 rear ends as used in Studebaker passenger cars of that era. The only different gasket would be the cover gasket - the 23/27 is different than the 44, but that is an easy visual check of the shape of the cover.

Comment

To be clear on nomenclature, is the cover gasket the one that surrounds the axle shaft in this picture?

Click image for larger version

Name:	58 rear brakes.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	1729281

Comment

To be clear on nomenclature, is the cover gasket the one that surrounds the axle shaft in this picture?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]83435[/ATTACH]