Vapor locking?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel System: Vapor locking?

I have been having no trouble driving the 51 bullet-nose until it started getting hot as long as do not shut off it will keep running. After shutting off it will not start until it cools down. Again i am not a mechanic but from what i have read on this forum i am thinking vapor lock ? What options do i have to fix this problem. A retired mechanic suggested putting the old time wooden clothes pins on fuel line so the wood would help take some heat off has anyone heard of this. I would love to keep everything original.thanks in advance for the help i will receive now and in the future
    sigpic
    John Schuetter
    Jasper, IN

The last suspected vapor lock I recall having, was at a church social a couple of years ago. It was on one of those searing hot southern summer days. I had parked my '51 V8 Land Cruiser pointing into the sun on an already hot black asphalt parking lot. This car, has rarely ever failed to start. When it would not start this time, I went back into the church social hall. I got a couple of Styrofoam cups full of ice, placed them next to the fuel pump, and carburetor. I also poured a little cold water on the short coiled fuel line between the top mounted fuel pump and carb inlet. Then, I went back into the church, visited a little longer with some friends. After a little while, I returned to the car, and it fired right up.