Torque Box Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other: Torque Box Replacement

Not only am I new to the club, I'm also new to my Avanti II. Initially, I thought of my car as being somewhat old, but reading some of the forums, I thinking somewhat new .

I'm having the torque boxes replaced. I'm aware of two methods - 1.) lift body and install, or 2.) cut fiberglass panels and install. There are advantages (?) to either method. I would appreciate views from those who have done either method.

The interior has been removed so that is one step out of the way. The motor has also been pulled.

I've read articles about lifting frame - some 7 bolts/side. Labor consuming...

Some discussion of cutting fiberglass panels - still labor consuming along with bodywork and re-paint...

Thanks in advance.

Jim C.

I think there is a Dick Steinkamp pictorial of how to do this. Someone else will know how to find it.
    Don Wilson, Centralia, WA

40 Champion 4 door*
    50 Champion 2 door*
    53 Commander K Auto*
    53 Commander K overdrive*
    55 President Speedster
    62 GT 4Speed*
    63 Avanti R1*
    64 Champ 1/2 ton

* Formerly owned

Comment

Originally posted by sodman View Post
      Not only am I new to the club, I'm also new to my Avanti II. Initially, I thought of my car as being somewhat old, but reading some of the forums, I thinking somewhat new .

I'm having the torque boxes replaced. I'm aware of two methods - 1.) lift body and install, or 2.) cut fiberglass panels and install. There are advantages (?) to either method. I would appreciate views from those who have done either method.

The interior has been removed so that is one step out of the way. The motor has also been pulled.

I've read articles about lifting frame - some 7 bolts/side. Labor consuming...

Some discussion of cutting fiberglass panels - still labor consuming along with bodywork and re-paint...

Thanks in advance.

Jim C.