Tach Drive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tach Drive

I've got a couple questions on the mechanical tach drive from the 56-61 ERA.
    Is there an expert in SDC or someone who rebuilds them?
    There is unit for sale on EBay that the seller says is a Chris Craft/Studebaker unit for a Mallory distributor, it looks similar to the ones I've seen for Studebakers but I can't tell for sure. Did Studebaker make engines for Chris Craft boats?
    Thanks,
    Dave Swaim
    Rockford, Il

I don't know the answer to your specific question, but check my web site for some basic info. on these units (and a link to Ray F's page on them as well.)

nate

--
    55 Commander Starlight
    http://members.cox.net/njnagel
    --
    55 Commander Starlight
    http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Comment

Sorry, the post didn't go through. Let's try again.
      I'm no expert, but he's what I know about the tach drives. The pulsemotor drives fit specific distributor caps. They say they can fit 4, 6, and 8 cyl engines, that may be true but I know it must fit a specific cap. These were made for cars, trucks, boats, and even tractors.

There are two drives for sale by the same seller. the first is a 5000 rpm tach with a 762 P sending unit. That sending unit will work on 6 cyl engine Delco "High Tower" distributors using Delco cap #1924248. He also has an 8000 rpm tach that has a 762 S sending unit that he says fits a Studebaker with a mallory distributor. The correct unit for V-8 Studes with Delco distributors is 762 M. I'm looking for one of those, since I have all the other parts. Anyone have one sitting in a box someplace?

The sending units can be used as either 6 or 12V, but the tachs are stamped on the back as to the voltage required.

Brent Hagen of Oregon says he can fix most units. See the Co-Operator in the December Turning Wheels for his address. He doesn't usually keep extra units on hand.