No announcement yet.

62 GT Hawk 289 engine with leaking oil under engine and transmission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: 62 GT Hawk 289 engine with leaking oil under engine and transmission

Hi Folks
    I am a novice trying to buy a 62-64 GT Hawk with 289 or R-! Jet Thrust
    Most I have looked at have over 85,00 miles (normal) and it is hard to tell if it is from engine, Transmission,power steering or other hydraulics.
    What is "normal leakage" for this model?

Is one table spoon normal after a drive?

Which of this this list is most expensive to fix
    engine main seal

engine front seal

Oil pan leak

Transmission leak

Power steering leak

Other source of leak

Recently infected with the GT virus and you help is appreciated

Thank You in advance

Joe

Hard to say. They are all "common" at some point in a car's life. First you need to see where it is leaking from. Put it up on a lift of a local repair facility. If engine oil, could be the drain plug, valve cover gasket (common) or any of your suggested areas, All are common to 50 plus year old cars. Is it automatic or manual? Trans leaks on A/T are common for the pan gasket and the dipstick tube to pan flange nut. Power steering hose seepage common, valve on steering box leakage common- all easy and relatively inexpensive fixes (but messy) Are you ready to do repairs yourself, or have a mechanic that works on old technology cars? Most of us are do-it-yourselfers. Welcome to the forum, if you do give in to your infection, come back with more particulars, we'll see what we can help you with. Remember, unless you're buying a fully restored, fully rebuilt and reconditioned (very expensive to do) car-it will be no better or worse than any early 60s car to fix and upkeep.

Comment

Joe,
      That`s like asking how much air do you breath !!!
      Are you running or walking ??????