Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

'55 Champion standard Saginaw steering gear seal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering: '55 Champion standard Saginaw steering gear seal

I'm new to Studebakers and am having difficulty with some terminology and parts location.

First off, when looking on line at Studebaker International catalog, in the steering section there is reference to "TL" or "TA" type box for 1951-60 cars. What's this? I called SI and asked. I was told that this is stamped on the steering gear. I asked where on the gear is this stamped and was told that he didn't know where, but on the gear. Well I'm dipped if I can find anything stamped on my steering box.

Does anyone one have any help here? I'd love to get a proper pitman arm seal before reinstalling into the car.

I'll probably have many more questions as I progress through getting this car up, running and reliable.

Jerry in Denver

You should buy the chassis parts manual. All the Studebaker vendors have them. This manual shows all of the parts, where they go, what they connect to, what their proper names are, and their part numbers.
    RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

17A-S2 - 50 Commander convertible
    10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
    10G-Q4 - 51 Champion business coupe
    4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
    5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon
    56B-D4 - 56 Commander station wagon
    60V-L6 - 60 Lark convertible

Comment

Studebaker Vendors rely on you to provide the part name and part number for all parts orders.