Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

Water Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cool/Heat: Water Pump

Hi guys! I'm new to Studebakers, and I wanted to check with you to see if there was anything I should keep in mind when changing my water pump. My car is a 64 Lark Cruiser with the v8.

Is it a pretty straightforward rip and replace?

Just about the easiest water pump ever made to replace. 4 bolts & remove the fan assembly. 4 bolts & the water pump is removed from the water manifold. Clean the 4 gasket surfaces & install the new pump with the supplied copper washers (providing you got your new pump from one of our vendors), reinstall the fan assembly, add coolant & your done! Welcome to the forum!!!!!
    59 Lark wagon, now V-8, H.D. auto!
    60 Lark convertible V-8 auto
    61 Champ 1/2 ton 4 speed
    62 Champ 3/4 ton 5 speed o/drive
    62 Champ 3/4 ton auto
    62 Daytona convertible V-8 4 speed & 62 Cruiser, auto.
    63 G.T. Hawk R-2,4 speed
    63 Avanti (2) R-1 auto
    64 Zip Van
    66 Daytona Sport Sedan(327)V-8 4 speed
    66 Cruiser V-8 auto

Comment

I do not think there could possibly be an easier car to replace a Water Pump on.

There are no Radiator Hoses, Fan Shrouds, Water Manifolds, nothing to remove except the small Pump itself and the Fan, Spacer and Pulley.

The 4 Bolts do require Copper Sealing Washers always supplied with Quality New Pumps from Studebaker Vendors. The Gasket should be as thin as possible to allow minimum clearance at the back of the Water Manifold.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

And while doing this carefully inspect the fan blade for stress cracks. Luck Doofus

Comment