Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint: Questions

I have to finish painting my '64 T-cab Champ pick-up which was started by a friend of mine who died.

I'll be applying a non-sanding sealer followed by build primer. After that, the paint, followed by clear coat.

1) What size compressor do I need?
    2) Do I sand the paint between coats?

As a panel beater painter myself of the old school I assume your trying to seal the old substrate surface but for what reason I'm not sure in all the years I've been doing it where possible its better to start with a clean canvass so to speak .
    If this is not possible by all means use the sealer but once you have applied high build surfacer you MUST make sure that you don't rub through the sealer.
    Compressor size should be a minimum of 10 cfm this will make sure you don't run out of air half way through the process of applying finish coats.
    When applying final finish I normally would apply a minimum of five coats overall give it 24 hrs then wet or dry rub entire body with twelve hundred 1200 paper so there is no orange peel .
    Then apply 5 more coats follow the same process you can put more colour on its up to you but when you have applied what you think will be enough its times to buff polish I'm assuming your using acrylic Lacquer and not two pack .
    If you are using two pack you need a spray booth to reduce the amount of surface contaminates as well as stopping the fumes and vapour which are lethal without the use of the proper air supplied masks.
    The beauty of two pack is a great gloss finish BUT it only surface gloss as against full depth gloss all the way to the primer when using Acrylic Lacquer which you can redo if you mark it a lot more easier than two pack.

Hope I haven't confused you or put you off.

Regards Allan 32hyb

Comment