59 Hawk 259 engine rebuild, heads advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 59 Hawk 259 engine rebuild, heads advice

I am rebuilding by 259 engine. Car has 65K miles on it and to my knowledge very little has been done to the car. It still has the Studebaker shocks on it. After 15 years in a storage shop, I put the gas suction into a clean can of gas and the car cranked on the second try. Now I have in my garage and am pulling everything apart.

I want the car original. Not looking for a hot rod, just a good running dependable engine.

That said, the valve guides have .10 to .14 mm play, so they have to go. Any advice on what should be replaced just as good practice, even though they look OK.

Like valves, springs, pushrods, lifters etc.
    How do you tell if a lifter is bad?
    And what about Std Vs Stainless valves? Double the price for stainless. What are the advantages?

I'm an engineer, not a mechanic, but have been working on cars since I was 15 (that was 4 or 5 deades ago).

Any and all advise please - I'll have more questions as I go.

Dell
    59 Silver Hawk
    62 GT Hawk
    Dell
    59 Silver Hawk
    62 GT Hawk

If you are keeping it stock...
    Just do a stock rebuild. Maybe replace the guides, or knurl them.
    Think about it...
    1963 to now (or older)... 44 years (some of them hard)...
    Stock rebuild...
    Now add 44 years+ (easy duty for the next round)...
    See you for another rebuild in 2051...
    Pretty darned good for a blue collar car, huh?
    Jeff[8D]

quote:Originally posted by wdsj

I am rebuilding by 259 engine. Car has 65K miles on it and to my knowledge very little has been done to the car. It still has the Studebaker shocks on it. After 15 years in a storage shop, I put the gas suction into a clean can of gas and the car cranked on the second try. Now I have in my garage and am pulling everything apart.

I want the car original. Not looking for a hot rod, just a good running dependable engine.