Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

Wheel Cylinder Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: Wheel Cylinder Questions

I plan to do some brake work to my 59 Silverhawk this weekend (I have a new master cylinder that I will put in) and I am pretty sure the wheel cylinders are shot from sitting for the last 15-20 years. I called for prices at the local auto parts store and they said there are two different types for my car? They said there is a heavy duty wheel cylinder as well as a standard one. My car has a V8 would this mean it uses a heavy duty wheel cylinder? Also, are rebuild kits universal to all types of stude wheel cylinders?

Thanks in advance,

Sam

If you need them today you can find a NAPA store. They have new wheel cylinders available- sometimes later that day. The fronts are 1 1/16" and the rears are 7/8". If I were home I'd give you the part numbers. Of course there are plenty of Stude vendors on-line as well who could help you out. Anymore it's easier to put on new and save the old for cores-less time involved and it's fresh! Good luck!
    Rob in PA. ( actually FL. )

Comment

Thank you! I may stop by Napa tonight. I believe there is one somewhat close to where I live.

Comment

studebakerparts.com always has the right parts and ships them very quickly.
        RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

17A-S2 - 50 Commander convertible
        10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
        10G-Q4 - 51 Champion business coupe
        4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
        5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon
        56B-D4 - 56 Commander station wagon