Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

dual exhaust how to ????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dual exhaust how to ????

I have a 1960 Lark with a 259 and want to put dual exhaust on it. I have A 2 1/4" and Flowmaster on the right. The muffler shop said that I would need a rear dump exhaust manifold so that the steering would be cleared and also to avoid extreme heat on the starter. Has any one installed the left side ??? How ???.....thanks Brad

Duel exhaust was optional. They used the std. manifolds. Any muffler shop, should be able to do it. The system is available thru many Studebaker venders.
    Klif

55 Speedster
    42 Champ Coupe
    55 Speedster/Street Machine
    63 Avanti R2
    64 Convertible R1

Comment

A good but probably not inexpensive option would be to just get the headpipes from Silvertone (Don Simmons) he can make them with larger size tube if that's what you want, but with the factory bends. They're stainless, too. Then you will be able to R&R the starter without dropping the exhaust, which is handy.

nate

--
      55 Commander Starlight
      http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel
      --
      55 Commander Starlight
      http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Comment

Brad,
        Get all the pipes from Simmons, put them in yourself. No big deal they fit like the factory ones. An afternoon project and your done.

Tim K.
        '64 R2 GT Hawk
        Tim K.
        \'64 R2 GT Hawk

Comment