224 Street Peformance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 224 Street Peformance

Just bought my first Studebaker as some of you may have seen in the General Topics, it's an early '55 Commander Regal Coupe with a 224 4 Bbl. and 3 Spd. OD and the guys over there made a pretty good case for keeping the 224 and OD. I'm not against it but I'm the kind of guy that has to modify EVERYTHING I get my hands on. So tell me, what can I do with the 224? I'm not wanting to set the streets on fire but what can I do to increase low and mid range TQ for getting around in traffic and passing on the highway? It already has a 4 Bbl.and I'm planning dual exhaust, how about camshafts, raising compression to 8.5 or 9 to 1, etc.? I cut my teeth on Pontiac's and then switched to Chevy and I'm no newbie to performance engines just Studebaker's, I'm here to learn.

Afterthought............ What might that have for a ring and pinion and was there ever a limited slip available that would fit it?

Analog man in a digital world.

I like the idea of boosting the HP on the 224. A 9.0 or 9.5 compression should be good, I little bit of an overbore and a cam should wake that engine up some.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Tom - Valrico, FL

1964 Studebaker Daytona - 289 4V, 4-Speed (Cost To Date: $1794.98)

Tom - Bradenton, FL

1964 Studebaker Daytona - 289 4V, 4-Speed (Cost To Date: $2514.10)
    1964 Studebaker Commander - 170 1V, 3-Speed w/OD

Comment

Phil Harris can probably help you out with some camshaft upgrades and other parts.If you car is has the stock rear (Dana 44 with 19 spline tapered hub axles) Twin Traction units used in later Stude cars could be used.
      If the rear doesnt have a ratio tag on the cover, you have to pull it and count teeth or look on the ring gear for the ratio expressed as a larger number over a smaller number. IE 44 over 13.
      Phil Harris can be found at