6Volt to 12Volt conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6Volt to 12Volt conversion

I am new to the Studebaker world since I just recently acquired a 1951 2R16A Fuel Truck. I Would like to convert it from 6Volt positive ground to 12Volt neg. ground. Other than the Alternator, Battery, resistor on the gas gauge, 12V heater blower motor and all new ligh bulbs, is there anything else I need to know[?] Does anyone offer a "conversion kit" to get everything needed in one place[?] I don't plan on driving it much and use the truck to refuel my 1943 and 1948 antique airplanes. Although I plan to cosmetically restore the relatively rust-free truck I will probably only drive it to the bulk plant and perhaps in our local July 4 parade. Most of the time I will start the engine, engage the PTO, refuel the airplane and shut it down again without driving it any distance. That's why I need an alternator to get get the most charging done in a short amount of time. I don't think the 6volt system is up to the task since it barely can start the truck now with a brand new fresh battery.

Bob Picard
    1951 2R16A Fuel Truck
    Anchor Point, Alaska

Welcome Bob. Check the "electrical difficulties" thread here, that will get you started on what to do. There are no conversion kits as such available that I'm aware of.

Frank van Doorn
    1962 GT Hawk 4 speed
    1963 Daytona Conv
    1941 Champion R-2 Rod
    Frank van Doorn
    Omaha, Ne.
    1962 GT Hawk 289 4 speed
    1941 Champion streetrod, R-2 Powered, GM 200-4R trans.
    1952 V-8 232 Commander State "Starliner" hardtop OD

Comment

As an alternative, if all your electrics work as is, there *are* 6V alternators made, based on I think a Delco 10SI. Might be less work, and easier to "restore" down the road if such is any concern to you, if you don't have any interest in adding a modern radio and/or engine (requiring a starter not available in a 6V version) which are the usual reasons for converting to 12V.