Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

Pre war brake shoe and hardware

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: Pre war brake shoe and hardware

I have been working on the brakes of my 1941 Studebaker champion 4 dr sedan for about 3 months now. I found someone to turn the drums and had the brake shoes relined. I have had trouble with them ever since. I have owned the car from 1997 til now. I did not have to do anything to the brakes when I got it so I am new to the prewar technology. The main problem stems from the fact that the shoes keep trying to come off the backing plate.Now after all that I have been though I found what's wrong. There are these little horse shoe clips that hold the shoe on with a washer undernath. The stud that the clip rides on has slots cut on each side the clip just slides into these clips. I have been forcing these clips on this pin any kind of way so mthey have been falling off in to the drum where they have been lodging themselves between the drum and the shoe. If I could have read somewhere just a little about this before I attemped to do my brakes it would have saved me alot of money. I wanted to keep my car as original as possible however these type of episodes will lead a person to change alot of things on a prewar car. Maybe it's me but some how this info should have been on this site somewhere, we know it ain't "new" I think with all these car shows on cable someone needs to do some play by play on old prewar cars.I think I know where my next vinture is going to be.
    Studebakers forever!