Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

accessing fuel gauge on GT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speedo/Tach/Gauges: accessing fuel gauge on GT

As a newbie, I need some suggestions from you experts. I have a 64 Hawk that the fuel gauge has quit working. It just shows "E" no matter what the fuel level. I have searched the forum concerning testing the gauge and have this information. My problem is how to access the wiring or terminals on the gauge without tearing out the gauge or the dashboard. There just doesn't seem to be enough room behind the dashboard to test the gauge. I've tried all kinds of things to get to the back of the gauge. The only thing I see is to try to take the two nuts off the mounting "bolts" and push it forward out of the dash. Any suggestions? Thanks.
    Larry

I think that it is best to tackle the simple, and cheapest things first, just to rule them out. So, with that in mind, I would tackle the sending unit first, making sure that it is working. Next, the wiring, and only after that should you suspect the gauge. Someone else on the forum will have the figures on resistance of the sending unit. But it is easier to go thru the access hole in the trunk, and test the sending unit, and ground, than being upside down, getting to the gauge. If you have to pull the gauge, it helps to take the front seat out. IMHO.

Comment