Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1963 Radio Push Buttons - How To Lighten?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interior: 1963 Radio Push Buttons - How To Lighten?

The push buttons on my 1963 Studebaker radio have darkened with age. They are a light tan instead of white. Any suggestions on how to get them to lighten up?

Have you tried using a light abrasive like Turtle Wax scratch remover? The one in the yellow bottle. I used to use it to polish and brighten up the white plastic trim (bump strips on the doors) on my white 1997 Firebird. They would get dark and dirty looking and this really cleaned them up. After several times cleaning them I finally got smart, cleaned them well, and then masked them off and clear coated them. You might consider that too after you clean them. You can buy clear in a spray can in semi gloss that might look just right.

Comment

I've no personal experience with this, but a google of the right terms will show several web forums with discussions on cleaning yellowed plastics, mostly for "vintage" computers and games from the 70s and 80s where the cases have turned a nasty orang-ish yellow. Those turn yellow due to flame retardants in the plastic reacting with air and sunlight over time. Quite a few other forums reference this method and most point back to this source:

This forum discussion below is relevant since the guy used methods from the above to whiten the knobs on a early 60s mercury comet radio.

Seemed to work for those.

The peroxide/UV light method is supposedly for ABS plastic and I don't know what was used for the stude radios.

This site lists a few things to try including the peroxide/UV for the ABS above:

Plastic is everywhere from the thermostat cover to the microwave door, and over time it can turn yellow. Here are several methods for how to whiten yellowed plastic. Choose the method that will be easiest for you.