Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Front and Rear Seals on my 1963 289 Full Oil Flow Studebaker Motor

Hi Folks,
    I am about to tackle the Front and Rear Seal replacement on my 1957 Studebaker Silver Hawk.
    I'm very nervous as I have never done this before on any type of Motor. Any and all advice will be welcomed.

Is the engine out?
    Is the front (felt) seal actually leaking?
    Is the rear seal actually leaking?
    Do you have a friend who has done this before?
    What shape is the rest of the engine in?
    HTIH (Hope The Info Helps)

Jeff

Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. Mark Twain

Note: SDC# 070190 (and earlier...)

Comment

I think most everyone's first suggestion would be to obtain a Studebaker Shop manual that covers your car. There are several sources for them, the easiest is Studebaker International. That book will provide very through instructions on the replacement of any gaskets or seals, and answer most any other mechanical questions you will encounter. Hope this helps.

Dan Miller
      Auburn, GA

Comment

Be very certain that your seals are leaking. I thought my engine (recently purchased, well used, was the normal external oiling engine. Then I realized I was filling the power steering every week. I had it rebuilt, (new bearings and seals) and now my '63 full flow engine is drip free. I couldn't believe it.

Comment

Hi Deep,