This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wheel Problems

Greetings. Does anyone have any super duper sure fire tips for getting a wheel lock off when you don't have the key? I'm thinking Sledge Hammer and big chisel.... but there is a small possibility that that (can you use two thats like that?) might damage the lug.
    Fire, Magic? Give up?

Thanks,
    Mac

Proud Owner of the one and only 1963 BEND OVER
    POOP HAWK and the 1966 Messtang!

quote:Originally posted by MacMyers

Greetings. Does anyone have any super duper sure fire tips for getting a wheel lock off when you don't have the key? I'm thinking Sledge Hammer and big chisel..
    I'm thinkin' blue wrench (but I've never tried it before)

Dick Steinkamp
    Bellingham, WA

Comment

If you have the kind where the key makes the hex rotate free, you can hit it square on with a BFH. The only one I had experience with, that split the outer shell and I was able to grip the nut with visegrips and take it off. Don't know about the other kind but I imagine some of the kids in my neighborhood could do it in about 30 seconds. They probably wouldn't tell me how, though. Hope this helps and good luck

jj

Comment

Try a nut splitter.

Pat Skelly
        62 GT Hawk
        53 Studillac
        37 Dictator Coupe

Comment

If it is one of the modern type, ask around to borrow wheel lock keys from your friends. They don't manufacture a lot of combinations. You may get lucky. Perhaps if you post a picture of what you have/need, someone here could come up with a key that they could send to you on loan.

Of course, the obvious first thing to do is to search through the car for the key. I have found them in places like; glove compartment, ash tray, spare wheel well, fastened to lug wrench.

Gary L.
          1954 Commander Starliner (restomod)
          1959 DeLuxe pickup (restomod)
          Gary L.
          Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
          Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment