Modifying a R1 engine to Accept a Super Charger

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modifying a R1 engine to Accept a Super Charger

I have a Avanti R1 engine that I'm in the process of modifying to accept a Supercharger, and obtain a bit more power. I've decided to replace the pistons to reduce the compression ratio. What are other things I should be thinking about doing at this point? What is the difference between the R1 and R2 carburetors? What carburetor am I better off with? I'm a little new to this and have gotten great help here that has gotten me to this point. Any help would be fantastic.

Thanks
    -Shaun

One other thing, what should I expect to pay for a R-2 Carb?

Thanks
    -Shaun

Comment

An R2 Carb will go for about $500. It may or may not require a rebuild for that price.

sals54
      sals54

Comment

just so you're aware, the factory lowered the CR by using different head castings, not by changing the pistons.

Which is preferable, I couldn't say. I would think the factory way would be better due to more "squish," but I've also heard tell that the semi-dish pistons work well.

nate

--
        55 Commander Starlight
        http://members.cox.net/njnagel
        --
        55 Commander Starlight
        http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Comment

Just FYI:

http://tinyurl.com/ylyk2qx

Robert (Bob) Andrews- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys)
          Parish, central NY 13131

GOD BLESS AMERICA

Comment

Thanks for the link Bob,
            What would you say one in that condition is worth? Does one
            need a R2 carb?

Thanks
            Shaun

quote:Originally posted by bams50

Just FYI:

http://tinyurl.com/ylyk2qx

Parish, central NY 13131

GOD BLESS AMERICA

Comment

Yes, you'll need an R2 carb. It needs to be the sealed type to handle the blower.

The linked one just sold for $1,026. That's probably the high end as to cost.