1963 Avanti R2 Transmission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1963 Avanti R2 Transmission

I just purchased a 1963 Avanti R2 and I am new to this car. I worked on last prior to this one but it seems that there is very limited technical information out there. Unless I am looking in the wrong place and if this is the case if someone could direct me in the right direction I appreciate it.

I have been running this car for the past month and noticed I am getting a squeaking noise around the flywheel area. It gets louder as I engage the clutch. Could anyone tell me what could be making noise? I never heard anything like it before. Also the car pops out of second gear. I am looking to pull the transmission out. How difficult of a job is it?

A: I don't have a lift I will be placing the car on jacks stands.
    B: How heavy is the transmission. I am figuring I will have to support the engine with a a jack stand once the the transmission is out.

The only other option is I will have to take this car to a mechanic but I would rather do the job myself.

Would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks
    Rob

squeaking noise around flywheel sounds like dry throwout bearing. to replace you have to pull the trans, so you might as well check the location of the bellhousing with a dial indicator as well (that could cause the popping out of 2nd)

Pulling trans is not theoretically a bad job but it'll be more difficult than normal due to the x-member frame of the avanti. you don't need to support the engine at all unless you pull the bellhousing to replace the clutch "while you're in there" as the rear engine/trans mount is on the bellhousing not the transmission. I don't know the full weight of the trans, but it's possible for one person to do the job if that one person is strong, but way easier with two people.

nate

--
    55 Commander Starlight
    http://members.cox.net/njnagel
    --
    55 Commander Starlight

Comment