Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

52 hardtop as donor for convertible resto?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 52 hardtop as donor for convertible resto?

I have heard that a 1952 hardtop body would be very useful to restore a rusty 47-51 convertible body shell. Anyone have any experience with this? Could a person take a solid 52 hardtop body and transport the convertible specific items over? Just wondering.
    Thanks,
    Brian
    FYI, my convertible is fixable rust wise, so I am not really considering this myself.

54 Champion coupe
    48 Champion Convert
    54 Champion coupe
    48 Champion Convert

I'm not an expert in this; I don't even play one on TV. That said:

The "hardtop" (technically, "hard-top convertible") body style came to be in the late '40's when GM and others started welding metal roofs onto convertible bodies and setting them down on cross-braced convertible frames. The whole point was that all parts were supposed to be shared except metal roof, cloth top and cloth top frame.

What you propose would almost certainly work: I've seen it done more than once. Given that '52 hardtops are finally starting to get some proper respect in the hobby, though, I'd think twice before sacrificing a solid one while there are still a few usable convertible tubs to be found.

IMHO - just my $.02 - etc.

Keoni Dibelka / HiloFoto
    In Hawai'i; on Hawai'i; on the Windward Side
    If da salt air never chew 'em up bumbye da lava will...

Comment