Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignition: 1952 Studebaker Champion v6 starting and tuneup

Good Morning Friends
    we have a 52 Studebaker champion 6 cylinder still on a 6 volt system. We are trying to get it starting smoother and running consistently. I’m new to mechanical stuff and old cars. Sorry quite green. I threw off the distributor when we tried to change the starter. I didn’t put it back exactly as removed so I threw it all off. Then messed around blindly. Thanks to some of you folks, I think I’m getting closer to understanding what to do.
    can I describe the steps I’m thinking to take if any of you can take a minute to correct me, suggest or even better magically fix it for me :>). I’m in Los Angeles near the 10 and 110 freeways if you suggest a place to take it as well.

I’d like to learn, so here are the steps
    For the distributor, do I remove spark plug 1 to lessen the pressure to be able to turn the front pulley clockwise to the IGN line (which is for TDC) and then to the left a tad (4 degrees) to check if the rotor is pointing to spark plug 1? And do I put a tissue paper in the plug hole and when it pops up I know I’m on the compression stroke? (Because Does it it take 2 or 3 full rotations of the pulley to get to the compression stroke? And from there I check the gap and dwell of the points? And I think to set the points gap the rotor has to be sitting on a high point of the center spindle? Is this right so far?

For the carburetor. …
    To ‘restart’ the 2 screw adjustments, do i turn the mixture and idle screws to the right till they start to feel ‘tight’ and then buck turn the mixture screw 1 1/2 - 2 full turns and the idle 1 1/2 to 2 turns or less ? Or ?

Any tips, advice or corrections? Please help and sorry in advance to bug you 🙏🏾☮️
    Attached Files