Flushing the braking system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: Flushing the braking system

Hey all. I recently decided to check my brake fluid and found that it was basically empty. Not good. I plan on flushing the system and checking the lines. In the shop manual for my car it recommends taking apart the master cylinder and cleaning it, replacing the piston cups, and run "a good quality alcohol" through the master cylinder to clean out the old oil. Are these things I should do while flushing the braking system? Are there other things I should check while I do this? I plan on using speed bleeders. The manual calls for Lockheed brake fluid, what is a good brake fluid today that I should use? I know I'm following a manual from the 30's, and I've never done this before, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I drive a 1938 Studebaker Commander.

The very FIRST thing you want to do is, find out if there are leaks somewhere.
    Check all 4 Backing Plates, Wheels, and Tires for traces of Brake Fluid.
    Check the bottom of the Master Cylinder, check the surface where it is parked.

If it has been over 10 or 20 years since the Wheel Cylinders and Master Cylinder have been replaced, it may need a Lot more than topping off the master cylinder.
    You can do that with ordinary DOT 3 or Dot 4 Standard Brake Fluid, 4 can take a little higher Temp. and absorbs a bit less water.
    It is still OK to flush it with Alcohol, but you must be sure to flush all of it out with New Brake Fluid.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver,
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner
    SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Does anyone here remember the ATE “super blue” racing brake fluid? This German motorcycle fluid spanned the whole DOT 3,4,5 range but in the last five or so years it’s been all but impossible to get it here in North America, thanks to DOT color standards that specify clear or amber.