Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

Dumb engine questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Dumb engine questions

I’ve never worked on a car this old before. I was poking around in the 5 minutes I had before work and found a couple things:

The oil filter: does this whole metal bit get cleaned out somehow and reused? Or is this part replaced? A couple of my modern(ish) cars have the replacement elements, but they’re paper/plastic/whatever, not this sturdy looking metal element.

What goes in the oil bath air filter? Mine’s currently filled with leaves and some black stuff that looks like drain oil...

There was this “mystery spring” laying on the intake manifold when I took the air cleaner off. Anybody wanna guess where it’s supposed to go? It looks like one side of it broke off ... something and it was just laying there not connected to anything.

I got the radiator cap off, and it looks Green inside (I was expecting rusty water, since this car lived in California all it’s life) I was planning on draining out the cooling system anyway before it stays below freezing here, but if it’s Antifreeze already, perhaps I have some more time before I HAVE to... what do I do with used Antifreeze? I know where to take my used oil but I’ve never tried to get rid of coolant before.