No charge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical: No charge

My 58 Silver Hawk 6 has no charge.Have installed a bench tested generator.Have two new regulators.polarized generator nothing.How can I test regulators?How do I find short or break in wiring?

I am by no means an expert but if I were having this problem I would have the engine running and a voltmeter handy. I would first check power at generator, then regulator, then battery. I am not sure of the gauge those had. I want to say it’s an amp gauge. Either way I’d check at the backside posts on that guy too. Seems to me there got to be power somewhere and one should be able to see where power stops at if checking at every point starting with the generator. I’d also note the condition of the wires where the insulation meets the plastic right at the base of every eyelit or spade connector. Good luck

Comment

Scoutergord;
      A shop manual for the 58 should have a good check out procedure.
      First before we can help you
      Which generator do you have Autolite or Delco?
      Do you have a volt ohm meter?
      Doing the following from memory; it has been a long while since I worked on a generator.
      Most Autolites supply voltage to the field through the regulator
      Delco as far as I know supply ground to the field through the regulator
      The battery terminal on the regulator should have 12 volts on it with the ignition key in the on position
      With the battery disconnected check the wires from the armature to the regulator for continuity with a ohm meter. and the same with the wires to the field
      Ron

Comment

Sixes are autolite.And polarizing the gen by shorting the bat and arm terminal creates a spark so power exists at the bat terminal

Comment