Radio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical: Radio

I have a rebuilt Philco radio that goes with a '51 Champion. A note on the radio says "for negative ground." The car is positive ground. What would be the proper way to make the connections?

If it was rebuilt with a solid state vibrator, they may have used a negative ground one. If so, it MUST be connected for negative ground OR changed out the vibrator for a positive ground one. The mechanical vibrators were not polarity sensitive and the tubes don't care but the solid state ones will blow if connected wrong.

If your car is positive ground, the easiest approach is to swap out the vibrator if its the negative ground version. Otherwise, you will have to somehow insulate the radio chassis from the dash and the chassis gets connected to your power feed and the power feed gets connected to ground. That would be extremely difficult.

As an electrical engineer, I don't know why the makers of these solid state replacements can't add polarity protection so, yes, it won't work but it also won't be damaged in the attempt. We have such circuits on ALL the electronics modules my group at work designs that go on Ag, construction, and truck applications. Its was too common for someone to install a battery backwards and they would NOT be happy to blow out many $$$$$ of controllers and displays.

Jeff in ND

Comment

The new vibrator designs made by Aurora Designs protect themselves from reversed polarity and short circuits in the outputs. The engineer of that company is really savvy to real world situations.

http://www.tech-retro.com/Aurora_Design/Home.html

The old vibrators made by AAR in Florida will eat themselves if reversed polarity is applied.

Do what Jeff says and replace the vibrator. Don't try to jury rig the radio the way it is. Take the back off, unplug the vibrator and see what it says on it. It should say the manufacturer and what polarity it is designed for.