Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

Does ethanol-free not have that familiar gasoline smell?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel System: Does ethanol-free not have that familiar gasoline smell?

Luckily I think, I'm able to buy ethanol-free gas near me and I have been using it exclusively for a couple years now.

I have noticed when I put the car in the garage after running it, I'll have an odor for a couple days or so, that is not the typical gasoline smell, but a smell I originally thought was a lubricant smell of some kind. I did have the carb rebuilt a year or so ago and it starts easily with minimal pumping of the gas pedal, and will start after sitting even three hours after running, with just a turn of the key.

Just wondering if anybody who uses ethanol-free has noticed the odor is not the same as 'typical 'gas. Thanks. Trying to figure out what I'm smelling.
    Bill Pressler
    Kent, OH
    (formerly Greenville, PA)
    Currently owned: 1966 Cruiser, Timberline Turquoise, 26K miles
    Formerly owned: 1963 Lark Daytona Skytop R1, Ermine White
    1964 Daytona Hardtop, Strato Blue
    1966 Daytona Sports Sedan, Niagara Blue Mist
    All are in Australia now

I've used nothing but ethanol-free in my '63 Avanti for the last 5 years & my olfactory senses say "gasoline" whenever I smell it. When I used to keep the car at my shop, one tech liked the smell and named it "Old Car Smell." I couldn't agree more.
    "Every man I meet on the street is superior to me in some respect, and from that I can learn."
    R.W. Emerson

Comment

I cannot say that the ethanol -free gasoline smells any different to me than gasoline from before the "ethanol era".