windshield wiper problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• windshield wiper problem

again. During restoration, I had to rewire the windshield wiper motor on our 1954 Commander Starliner hardtop. I now find that if I turn the wipers on, instead of them sweeping upward across the windshield, they sweep downward across the cowl. Not a good thing for the paint job!I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.
    Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

What you have (probably) done is install the wiper arms when the motor was NOT in the PARK position. It is very common for the park-switch to stop working. IN that case, the motor stops wherever you shut the switch off. I suspect your motor had stopped at the TOP of it's stroke... so, when you installed the arms and turned it on... the only place it could go is DOWN across your cowl.

To repair:
    1) REMOVE the wiper arms completely
    2) Turn on the wiper motor and watch the action of the pivots
    3) Stop the motor so that the pivots would be in the at-rest position. Either by using the switch (get a helper), or disconnecting/connecting the battery as you watch the pivots.
    4) reinstall the wiper arms
    5) test

Ray

Specializing in Studebaker Restoration
    Ray

www.raylinrestoration.com

Comment

Hi Ray,
      No, I installed the wiper arms after they parked. When viewing the driver's side wiper shaft from the front, turning the wiper switch to on results in the shaft pivoting counterclockwise. Is there any other reason for the shafts to turn the wrong way at start-up other than the motor turning in the wrong direction?

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
      Hummelstown, PA

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
      Grantville, PA

Comment

quote:Originally posted by alanmende

Hi Ray,