Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

64 Hawk Transmission "Need Help"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 64 Hawk Transmission "Need Help"

Hello, I am new to the Studebaker Forum and I appreciate any info I can get concerning my newly aquired 64 Hawk.
    When I bought the car I was told it had a Two Speed transmission like the Chevy Powerglide but was Studebaker.
    My problem is the car shifts way too soon and won't down shift when you step on the gas to pass.Is there an adjustment on the transmission and did Studebaker make a two speed tranny?
    I did notice that it doesn't have any linkeage going from the throddle linkeage to the transmission.
    Also, will any other transmission work on a Studebaker? I noticed that someone is selling a kit to adapt other transmissions if anyone had any dealings with these I would appreciate some info.
    I have a 53 Street Machine but it is all Chevy drive line. I wanted to keep the Hawk original. Thanks, David

David L. Morris

Welcome to the forum. You can use the search feature up at the top of the page on the right side. Might find some info. But someone will chime in soon to help you.

Mabel 1949 Champion
    1957 Silverhawk
    1955 Champion 4Dr.Regal
    Gus 1958 Transtar
    1955 President State
    Fresno,Ca
    Mabel 1949 Champion
    Hawk 1957 Silverhawk
    Gus 1958 Transtar
    The Prez 1955 President State
    Blu 1957 Golden Hawk
    Daisy 1954 Regal Commander Starlight Coupe
    Fresno,Ca

Comment

Trans-Go has a kit for it. It is the same trans as used in 1968 Ford Cast iron case Cruse-O's.

Comment

quote:Originally posted by DLM