64 Daytona Tire Selection for Road Racing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 64 Daytona Tire Selection for Road Racing

I have the chance to run a road course at Brainerd in three weeks. Since I have never done this before I'm thinking of taking my 64 Daytona, because it drives and stops...eventually.

I can fix the brakes but it doesn't corner too great, so I'm trying to figure out what tires to put on it. I have a set of American Racing Salt Flat Specials for another project. They are 15X6 for the front and 15X7 for the rear.

I've been looking at what others have done on Larks and have it narrowed down to 205/70, 215/70, or 235/60. Does any one have any experience with any of these tires? Do they rub? I know StudeDave57 has posted that 215/70s rub on his 64 4 door, but I'm hoping that the lighter weight of a hardtop and HD springs would help that. I'm currently leaning towards the 215/70s. This set up will ultimately be used on a 63 Avanti so it would also help if it would fit on that car as well.

Nick

Also keep in mind that any extra weight in the 4 door would be in the rear, but since Dave's Cruiser is actually a over 100 LB. lighter IN THE FRONT '65 283, it does weigh the same! [:0]

StudeRich
    Studebakers Northwest
    Ferndale, WA
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver,
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

Nick~
      My car is a '65 Cruiser. She is a 283/automatic, with power disc brakes, power steering and HD springs all around. She's also got close to 300,000 miles on her. It's been at least 100,000 miles since her front end was last rebuilt. Her shocks are worn out. Her tires are BFG 215/70s mounted on 15x7 "O.E. style Ford/GM" rims I got from Coker. I later learned they are made by Wheel Vintiques. (I doubt that spelling is right, BTW) I drive her hard, but not nearly as hard as I could/would if I was on a track!!! No telling what that might be like~ not yet, anyway... [:0]