after market gauge hook up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: after market gauge hook up

This might sound like dumb questions, but I'm new to Studebakers. I have a 55 Champion with a rebuilt 289 motor converted to 12 volt neg. ground. I want to install after market analog mechanical gauges. I'm not sure where on the 289 V8 I can install the temperature sender and the hook up for the oil line for the gauge. This is a Studebaker 289 not a Ford. Any help would be appreciated.

Oil gauge hook up on my 289 Champ PU Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2297.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	1725844

Comment

As in the picture above the oil line can go into the 1/8" pipe thread at the back of the right head on the top surface or the rear surface, or into the same port at the front of the left head.

Depending on what model car and if you have a heater or not, the water sender can go into the plate/ plug on the rear surface of either head or the plug if you have one in the top of the water manifold. You can also change the water outlet to one with a threaded port in it if needed, many GM ones have them and will fit. it all depends on your particular setup.
      sigpic

Comment

The Temp Sending Unit goes at the Rear of the Driver's side (Left) Cyl. Head. There should be a Plate with the hole in it that the sender is screwed into.
        If this V8 engine swap was from a '56 or Newer Stude. the current sender will be a 12 Volt and may work depending on the OHMs requirement of the aftermarket Gauges.

The Oil Gauge pressure line goes near the rear end of the Right Cyl. Head. It will require a Flex Hose to the Firewall due to engine movement.

Use caution about replacing the Water Outlet (Thermostat Housing) with other make's Parts as they do not have the recess for the Thermostat built in like Stude. ones do.
        Anyway if this 289 V8 is a 1956 to 1960, it will have a 4 Bolt T'Stat Housing that no other make fits.
        StudeRich